06 Status

Hello Blog world. I hope you are keeping creative. What to say about the month of May? Well, its been nice and warm so I did some gardening. I have planted some tomatoes, strawberries, hot peppers, herbs, and flowers. My front yard is looking so nice that I have spent hours upon hours just chilling on my front porch. I have managed to drag my self away from my small but very homey garden to do some work. 

Before I get into what I have been up to in terms of my personal projects, I would like to give a blog update. You may have noticed that there was no Creative Resources post this Monday and last Monday. The reason for this is that we have decided to do one a month instead of one a week. This way we will have more time to tell you about our our own and collaborative projects. 

Updates on Past Personal Projects

09 Social Media Craze.

I attended my first Instameet this past month. An Instameet is basically a social photowalk gathering with a group of Instagramers. This particular one was organized by @IGToronto and it was amazing fun. It was great to meet so many of the people whose adventures I have been following and pictures I have been admiring. It was a great afternoon of chit chatting and taking pictures. The pictures taken at the event by all the Instaramers who attended can be found under #igtodoesdistillery. if you do not have Instagram click here to see the pictures.

10 Fire Hydrants

This collection is growing and growing and growing 🙂 I went back into my older vacation pics and pulled out a bunch of hydrant pictures. I have also been taking more pictures of hydrants around the city. I will update the Hydrant Gallery with those pictures this month.

Updates on New Personal Projects

11 Art Journal

You may recall Erin’s post about Art Journals a little while ago. Well it inspired me to start one. I have combined the journal with my city journal and named it “The book of me and the things that make me smile”. Perhaps a bit Cheesy, but the point of the journal is to put down whatever comes to your mind. I guess I was in a cheesy mood when I did my first entry. 

Now you may wonder what I mean with a city journal. I tend to collect business cards, write notes and keep certain paper memorabilia while I am on vacation. Each trip or city gets a new book. Its just nice to go back to and reminisce or give advice to friends who may be going to the same location at a later date. I recently wondered why I do not have a book for Toronto. I mean I live in the city but why not keep tack of the good restaurants, cafes, festivals ext.  that I go to. 

My art journal is about my adventures be it physical or creative. 

12 Pavilion for BIG on Bloor

I was approached to join a team who is working on a pavilion for the annual Bloor Street festival in Toronto. I have offered to help out with the management aspect of the project. Stay tuned for more detail on the project as it progresses. 

 13 Night Photography

Over the weekend I attended Exposure, Henry’s annual photography and video imaging exhibition. There were some very interesting seminars and some of the biggest names in camera and camera accessors manufacturers were there. I bought a long awaited tripod and am now ready and totally excited for some night photography sessions. Hopefully I will capture a few images worth sharing. 

GK

 

Leave a Reply

