03 Goldcrock

The adventures of Dradjicka and Goldcrock started one night when Dee and I were attending an evening event for the Ottawa International Animation Festival a few years back. Both of us are used to our names being mispronounced, but this mispronunciation really had us giggling. Being under strong influence of animation, we immediately fashioned our superhero identities. Later on that week while at another OIAF event with Erin, her Mosquito Mask was born. I do not remember the exact story behind Mosquito Mask, I just remember laughing extremely hard. Anyway I have finally drawn Goldrock.

To me the name, when broken up into two parts, sounds like a Golden Crocodile. That is the basic idea I started off with. I guess the typical next step would have been do decide what type of character she was I.E. is she good or evil… I for some reason did not go there. Perhaps because the “obvious” assumption was that she would be a good character. In either case I started thinning about and brainstorming what a half human half crocodile would look like. This is the basic list of characteristics I came up with.

  • A recognizably human body
  • A tail
  • Golden crocodile/human skin
  • Creature of the swamp
  • Facial features have clear non human characteristics
  • Strong legs (perhaps more of a frog attribute but I figured they are all swamp creatures so I just went with it)
  • Claws
  • A warrior

Goldcrock - initial sketchA few things came out in the initial sketch.

  1. Tail should be on the other side… it would look more natural with her posture.
  2. The scaly skin is there to protect her vital organs.
  3. Her weapon (a sharp wooden tool) is attached to her leg for easy reach…I realized after drawing it in that it must have been subconsciousness inspired by Lara Croft.
  4. She has claws which will help her navigate the swamp and fight her battles.
  5. Clothing is Amazon Warrior inspired.
  6. I should not ink the outlines… I just did not like the look.

The final is the tweaked version of the initial sketch.

finalI showed it to a friend. His first question was “is she good or bad?”…Well she does not really look like one of the “good guys” and I do not really want her to be one of the “bad guys” simply because she does not look like a stereotypical “good guy.” My fried introduced me to the “Chaotic Good Character.”

“A chaotic good character acts as his conscience directs him with little regard for what others expect of him. He makes his own way, but he’s kind and benevolent. He believes in goodness and right but has little use for laws and regulations. He hates it when people try to intimidate others and tell them what to do. He follows his own moral compass, which, although good, may not agree with that of society.

Chaotic good is the best alignment you can be because it combines a good heart with a free spirit.

Chaotic good can be a dangerous alignment when it disrupts the order of society and punishes those who do well for themselves.”

The definition is taken from http://easydamus.com/chaoticgood.html and I think that it fits Goldcrock perfectly. What do you think? 

GK

Leave a Reply

